And now, for something completely different…

pastels

"A Banana At Heart"

I love it when things are caught up. Projects for the Maine Open Juried Art Show is now out of the way (The picture at the left was my entry last year, which placed 1st in Pastels division. Surprised the heck outta me, lemme tell ya.), and the only thing left is the opening on the 20th, then take down on the 21st of April; I have a Waterville Area Art Society board meeting in less than an hour; I’ll be polishing up the synopsis and query letter one last time following, before reviewing the list of possible agents and publishers to see which ten we’ll submit first; maybe even start outlining the second book whilst I’m at it.

Remember how in the last post I had mentioned my inability to listen to Terry Goodkind on audiobook? I brought this up to Jenny, the co-author of Sin’s Tethers, and she brought up a point: I’m a speed reader. I probably wouldn’t have noticed the repetition had I been reading the novel myself. So, with that consideration and on a quasi-suggestion from an old friend, Don A. Martinez, whom had read our synopsis and query letter (one of the few literary friends whom hadn’t read the manuscript), I picked up on of Goodkind’s other books, The Law of Nine, from the library, and will be reading that this weekend.

On the lighter side, I finished the first book in the Remy Chandler series, A Kiss Before The Apocalypse, by (I had to look up the spelling of his last name) Thomas E. Sniegoski. Quick read, not too heavy on the details, dubbed a “noir fantasy” (I would also add “cozy” to the description) on the cover. Good, snappy dialogue, and, the best part: in the saturated world of immortal romance schtick, we meet the main character, an angel living as a human, and his wife, who is in a nursing home. Yes, we have handsome, thirty-something-looking angel in human form (my only gripe: classical, Biblical angels, which sadly made the story predictable) sitting at the bedside of his eighty-something wife, whom is dying of old age, and, without giving away Remy’s driving force to what he does in the climax, is very well-played. Excellent, quick, light read. Got two more on order from Ellen at Children’s Book Cellar, and the fourth is sitting on my shelf–Jenny found that at the Mr. Paperback liquidation sale. I’d read them over again if I had an hour to kill.

Next time I post, it will be about actual the submission process; this Thursday at the Waterville Public Library, we’ll be discussing outlines.

Leave a Reply

